Homemade Creamsicles

So, I know summer is over, but that doesn’t mean we can’t still pretend it’s an appropriate time to eat cold things, right?

Especially when we’re talking happiness inducing childhood favourites like creamsicles?

creamsicle_1

These were mine and my sisters’ FAVOURITE popsicles to have growing up. Like, we were OK with revellos and sometimes fudgsicles were really our jam, but anytime there were creamsicles in the freezer, they were pretty much the first to go.

I promise our parents also fed us healthy foods from time to time.

I feel like creamsicles have an oreo-like history to them. How did you eat yours? My sister taught me to start by biting off the orange bits around the entire popsicle in order to save the smooth vanilla centre for last. MmmMMMmm. Food nostalgia is the best.

I guess you could say this is a cheater version because the orange and vanilla is more swirled together rather than being the classic orange coated vanilla pop, but I couldn’t hear your complaining over the sound of me eating all six of these delicious homemade creamsicles.

OK I didn’t really eat every one of them. At once.

You start by zesting and juicing two fresh, plump oranges. I like to have pulp, but feel free to strain it out if you prefer.

creamsicle_2

I know I know, I use a strainer in the picture, but that was to catch the seeds. Once I got those out I stirred all the pulp back in. Chungwon will attest to it! You know what? I don’t care if you believe me or not.

Make a little orange simple syrup with the zest, a bit of juice and some sugar. If you’re like me, it hurts a little inside to add more sugar to something already naturally sweet, but we do this for two very good reasons. First, adding the syrup changes the texture of the juice so that it freezes a bit softer. (Think of the difference in texture between a regular ice cube and frozen juice concentrate. Got it? Good.) Second, anything you’re going to eat frozen needs a little extra intensity because freezing will mellow out the original flavour of anything. So the extra sugar is to compensate for that.

creamsicle_3

Then it’s just a matter of filling your molds with spoonfuls of vanilla ice cream, pouring over the chilled orange juice, inserting the sticks and freezing until firm!

creamsicle_5

 

As much as I have admittedly been obsessed with getting my hands on a cool, classic set of popsicle molds, I used this $2 set from Ikea because I’m thrifty like that.

If you want to be even thriftier, you can make popsicles in things you probably already have lying around the kitchen. Shot glasses, small containers, paper cups, other things you have that I can’t think of… Just cover the tops of whatever you use with some tin foil to help hold the popsicle stick in place.

View and download the full printable recipe:

One response to “Homemade Creamsicles

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Pistachio Sables | fairlynerdyfood·

Leave a Reply

